Beautiful People June 2016 (Childhood Edition!)

Hello, all! Because I’m currently in the planning stages of a new story and need to get to know my main character, I’m going to take a brief hiatus from doing Beautiful People for my Windsong characters. Don’t worry, I’ll continue introducing them to you next month, unless another new-story character decides to take over. . . .

First, a brief blurb about Beautiful People: This is a link-up run by Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In. The idea is that writers’ characters are all beautiful people and we should get to know them, so every month Cait and Sky put out ten character-development questions for other bloggers to answer. Anyone can join in, so if you’re interested, click the link for one of their blogs and join the fun! (Also, check out their blogs in general while you’re at it, because they’re both really good bloggers.)

Now, everyone, I would like you to meet Rahāra Vāl.

Rahara?:
I don’t know her very well, so I shall invent on the fly today.

1. What is her first childhood memory?

A large gray dog standing in front of her. (Grey? She is British.)

2. What were her best and worst childhood experiences?

Best experience: Getting applauded for her great performance in a school play. Worst experience: Getting applauded for a terrible performance in a school play because she tripped and fell over and people felt sorry for her. That, and getting yelled at by her mother for locking her younger brother in the bathroom.

3. What was her childhood home like?

Just a middle-class house in the suburbs of London. (Now I should really look up what this is like.)

4. What’s something that scared her as a child?

Dark places, because her older brothers locked her in a closet once for a couple hours, and cats, because she was warned early on that she was allergic to them and not to go near them at all (which I, personally, find very sad, especially considering that she didn’t turn out to be allergic after all).

5. Who did she look up to the most?

Probably Emma Watson (who plays Hermione Granger in the Harry Potter movies). Watson was one of Rahāra’s inspirations to pursue acting.

6. Favorite and least favorite childhood foods?

Favorite: Ice cream. Least favorite: Carrots.

7. If she had her childhood again, would she change anything?

Yes: all the embarrassing moments (such as the aforementioned tripping and falling onstage). She’s a bit of a perfectionist.

8. What kind of child was she? Curious? Wild? Quiet? Devious?

Quiet at first, but she soon became defiant, particularly toward her two older brothers.

9. What was her relationship to her parents and siblings like?

As she grew up, she became more and more distant from her parents and siblings (three brothers). She became very ambitious in wanting to pursue her own path once she was a teenager.

10. What did she want to be when she grew up, and what did she actually become?

She wanted to be an actress, and at the start of her book, she is a secretary looking for work as an actress and model.

That’s it for today! Thanks for stopping by to meet Rahāra!

Tell me, are you doing Beautiful People this month? If so, put your link in the comments so I can read it! What did you think of Rahāra? Have you ever used Beautiful People questions to help you learn about a new character? Share in the comments!

8 thoughts on “Beautiful People June 2016 (Childhood Edition!)

  1. Cool questionaire and writing prompt! I didn’t know Cait at Paper Fury did this every month. I’ll have to join in at some point. Rahāra sounds really relateable and cool. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I am also a perfectionist, so I get that, too. Welcome to the club, right? 🙂 As she develops, I’ve found her reflecting me more and more.
      I read your post, and I really like Mida! How ironic that she and Rahāra each have three brothers. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Rahara sounds interesting! What made you choose that name for her? Bully brothers. Bleh. I hope the So Your Character is From Another Country post helps you out! Thanks for taking a look at it. Best wishes writing her!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! She’s actually the daughter of a man who came to Earth from my fantasy world by accident and couldn’t get back. I checked out that post when it came up, and I’m sure I’ll refer back to it as I keep writing this new book. Thanks for the good wishes!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

