Book Quote 6: Dreamlander

 

“You find Lael a disgruntled country, and sometimes disgruntled people believe whoever shouts the loudest.”

Hello! I read Dreamlander by K.M. Weiland last month after receiving it for my birthday, and this was one of the quotes that really stuck out at me. As usual for the first Saturday of the month, let’s analyze it!

1. It’s memorable. As soon as I read this, I thought, “Wow, what a great quote.” It’s short, but still packs a punch. Sometimes, what sticks with a reader is not long, flowing passages of prose, but short quotes that are, well, quotable. This quote comes early on in the book to describe one of the political factions that winds up playing a major role later on, so its memorability only aids in foreshadowing.

2. It’s relevant. The other thing I thought as soon as I read this was, “So true.” I won’t give names, but America’s political scene today shows us the very truth of this quote. It’s always interesting when books speak to current events, even accidentally (Dreamlander was published four years ago). It’s good to express your opinion as the author without being too overt.

I really enjoyed this book. Come back in a couple weeks for my full review!

What do you think? Have you read Dreamlander? Do you like this quote? What do you think of political opinions in fiction? Tell me in the comments!

One thought on “Book Quote 6: Dreamlander

Leave a Reply

