Are Allergies Genetic? (Said the Science Nerd)

Yes, yes, on second Saturdays of the month, everything I say is from science-nerd mode, isn’t it? Specifically biology-nerd mode. I suppose that’s what happens when one is a genetics student.

Really, though, a couple of things influenced me to ask myself this question. Number one, I am a genetics student; therefore, I am curious about genetics. Number two, I have allergies, as does everyone else in my family. We’ve been sneezing off the hook for about three months now. I am mostly allergic to pollen (a real letdown for a plant lover), but people in my family are allergic to all sorts of things: horses, corn, sheep, hazelnuts, cats, you name it. So I wondered: are allergies genetic?

I asked Google that question, and it was kind enough to direct me to this interesting article, which not only answered my original question, but added more to the answer. It turns out that allergies are genetic, passed from parent to child. They are also sex-related; for example, girls are more predisposed to have allergies if their mothers also have allergies, and vice versa for boys.

Another article points out that there are different kinds of “allergic diseases,” including eczema and asthma as well as hay fever (pollen allergy). And, like anything else, allergies are influenced by environmental factors, including air pollution, chemicals, and types of animals and plants in the area, as well as by genetics. (See this abstract for more.)

Well, this turned out to be a short post. There are some quick facts about allergy genetics for you!

What do you think? Do you have allergies or something similar, like asthma? If so, do your family members have it, too, and have you ever wondered whether it was genetic? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

