Beautiful People August 2016

Hi, folks! It’s August already, which means it’s time for another Beautiful People post. What is Beautiful People, you ask? It’s a link-up put out by Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In. They make up ten questions once a month, and we writers answer them for our characters. The whole point is to get to know our characters better.

This month’s Beautiful People is the appearance edition. My most distinctive character in Windsong (which you can read more about here if you want) is the protagonist, Crow. I already did Beautiful People for him once, but he’s my favorite, so he was bound to come up again anyway. I have also found a new photo for him (see below).

Crow:
Being a medieval fantasy character, he is not this modern-looking. There is also a major feature missing here, which I’ll get to in a minute.

 

1. Give a brief overview of their looks. (Include a photo if you want!)

(See above photo and read on!) Crow has black hair, dark gray eyes, and tanned skin from several years outside. He also has a number of scars from his traumatic past as a slave. The most prominent is a reddish one that extends from his right temple down his cheek, neck, and the right side of his chest, a permanent reminder of the wound that nearly killed him.

2. Share a snippet that involves description of their appearance.

“What happened here?” she [Krina] whispered.

“I don’t know.”

She looked up. A young man stepped out of the river. His black hair was slicked to his forehead, and his soaked clothes stuck to his wiry body. He carried a sword; its point dragged on the ground behind him. He lifted it and held it in front of him, staring at her with dark gray eyes.

“Who are you?” he asked.

(Sorry about the font difference; it doesn’t seem to have merged when I copied it from Scrivener.)

3. What is the first thing people might notice about them?

The scar. Also the perpetual intense look in his eyes.

4. What are their unique features? (Ex.: freckles, big ears, birthmark, scars, etc.)

Well, in addition to the scar mentioned quite a lot above, he, er . . . has other scars. There are scars all down his back, arms, and shoulders from where he’s been whipped. Basically, I’ve tortured him a lot.

5. How tall are they? What is their build? (Ex.: stocky, slender, petite, etc.)

He’s about 5’6″ at the start of the book, at age sixteen. Apparently above, I described him as wiry, but that’s really not right. Crow is more of a stocky, muscular type.

6. What is their posture like? How do they usually carry themselves?

I’ve never really thought about this, but I’ve always pictured him standing up straight. He likes to look down at as many people as he can.

7. Your character has been seen on a “lazy day” (free from usual routine/expectations): what are they wearing and how do they look?

Well, he looks rumpled, because he’s sleeping or just woke up from sleeping (usual routine is hunting in the forest by himself), but he’s wearing the same thing as ever: dirty, worn-out shirt and pants, things he’s snuck in and taken from the nearby seacoast village.

8. Do they wear glasses, accessories, or jewelry on a regular basis? Do they have any article of clothing or accessory that could be considered their trademark?

Not really. During the story, he picks up a sword, and he also carries a small knife and a bow.

9. Have they ever been bullied or shamed because of their looks? Explain!

Not so much because of his looks, but the slavedrivers certainly bullied him anyway, and younger slaves were sometimes a little nervous around him because of his scar.

10. Are they happy with how they look? If they could change anything about their appearance, what would it be?

He’s not particularly happy about being scarred (once he starts thinking about it, he decides it makes him ugly), but he feels it’s a part of him. (Of course, though, he would love to go back and never be a slave in the first place, and change his looks that way.)

That’s it for today! Come back next month for another Beautiful People post!

Did you do Beautiful People this month? (Post your link in the comments if you have!) If you haven’t done it before, do you think you’ll try it now? Tell me in the comments!

8 thoughts on “Beautiful People August 2016

  1. Ohhh that is a massive scar… you are a cruel author to precious tragic Crow. ;D POOR CROW. But I loved the visual of him here and I feel like I can totally *see* him.
    I really enjoyed reading this. 😀 Thanks for linking up with us!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Awww, poor Crow… Well, I guess us authors are supposed to be cruel to our characters sometimes 😛 anyways, you did a really great job describing him! I can totally visualize him, and I feel like I got a glimpse of his personality as well.

    On a side note, I read the post you linked to about Windsong, and I’m intrigued! Though I’m don’t typically read a lot of fantasy stories, I really like your characters (especially the twins!) and all of the thought you’ve put into the world as well. It’s definitely something I’d be interested in!

    I’m also doing BP this month, if you’re interested in reading it it’s here: https://mmusingsblog.wordpress.com/2016/08/16/beautiful-people-20/ — If not, totally cool, I know the writing life gets pretty hectic 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes. Every time I post about Crow, he gets all kinds of sympathy. I’m sure he’ll start getting frustrated soon. 😉 I’m glad you enjoyed reading about him, and about Windsong! I’m happy to have intrigued a non-fantasy reader. 🙂

      Oh, I know, right? Life is hectic, but I’ll definitely try to check it out at some point. Look for my comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m fascinated that, though you mentioned the scar as the first thing someone would notice about Crow, Krina doesn’t seem to see it in the excerpt you posted. This makes me wonder if she has a way of seeing beyond the physical… or if she’s going to notice it in the next paragraph and debunk my conspiracy theories. 😛

    I appreciate the description of his typical rumpled appearance. 😄

    Ah, gotta love tortured characters!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahem. Yes. (Leave it to a longtime critique partner to notice these things. . . . ;)) That’s me not having edited description yet. She will notice it in a few months when I’ve done those edits. 😛

      I am glad you enjoyed the post! Thanks for reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I always like scars. They always have such good stories for the character who bears them, and usually allude to juicy backstories. 😉 Crow sounds like a really interesting character!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

