My Life This August: In Which I Finish My Fellowship, Work, Edit, and Gear Up for School

Hello! I can’t believe it’s the last Saturday of August already. I’ve been blogging for six months! Where does the time go?

This month has been pretty routine. Halfway through, I finished up the research fellowship I started back in May. It’s hard to believe I’ve got a summer of full-time genetics research under my belt already, and I’m looking forward to going back to it in the fall to finish up my projects!

For the last couple weeks, I’ve been working my other job and trying to edit Windsong in between. I wanted to finish before the 29th (which is when school starts up for me), but at this point, that looks doubtful, due to lots of work and having to write a final report for my fellowship. So I guess I’ll continue to pick at it while I’m in school, if I can.

On that note, much of my time has been spent gearing up to start school again. For those who don’t know, I am going to be a sophomore at the University of New Hampshire this year. I live close enough that I can commute and not have to spend the extra money to live there.

Image result for university of new hampshire
A view of Thompson Hall at UNH. (Image not mine)

This upcoming semester, I am taking four classes: Introductory Physics I, Organic Chemistry I, Principles of Genetics, and Biotechnology and Society. To be honest, I’m probably most excited about Biotech and Society, with genetics a close second, since I am a genetics major and considering work in the agricultural biotech industry. Physics is required to graduate, so I’m getting it out of the way now. And organic chemistry . . . well, let’s just say that’s what people complain about if they’re going to complain about pre-med requirements. (I’m not pre-med, but I’ve met a lot of people who are, so.)

I’ve already bought three of my textbooks (for genetics and organic chem–its lab has a textbook all to itself), and received one, my genetics book. It’s a shiny new hardcover, which is really cool. 🙂 And I’ve already started reading it, and it promises to be quite interesting. I’ve also bought other school supplies, like my five-subject notebook for the semester and highlighters and stuff. (And my parking permit, because I commute.) I am all set to go back on Monday the 29th!

What about you? Are you going back to school soon? Are any of you out there fellow college students? Any STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) students or prospective students? (Shout out to you all, especially if you’re also writers! It’s a weird life sometimes, but fun.) What did you do this month? Any writing or editing? Working? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

