Extra Post: The Bookshelf Tour Tag

Hi, folks! I know I’ve already wrapped up September, but Victoria Howell tagged me for this tag (many thanks, Victoria!), and it looked too fun to not do. So, let’s tour my bookshelf!

1. A short but powerful book: Good question. I think the closest thing to “short and powerful” on my bookshelf is 1984 by George Orwell. But it’s not exactly short. 😛 As far as things I’ve read, A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin was pretty short, and absolutely amazing. (Check out my review here!)

2. A good, long book: The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien. (That may not be the last Tolkien book mentioned in this tag. . . .)

3. Favorite classic (on your shelf): Let’s hear it for The Lord of the Rings! If that doesn’t count because it’s too much of a pop-culture phenomenon, Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott is also good.

4. A relatively obscure book: Dreamlander by K.M. Weiland. This is an amazing book, I’m pretty sure it’s self-published, and it needs to be better known. (Seriously, go look it up right now. Or read my review first, whatever.)

5. An underrated book: See #4. The Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia C. Wrede could also fall into this category, but I’m pretty sure they have more of a following than Dreamlander does.

6. An overrated book: Hmm. I guess Edge of Oblivion by Joshua A. Johnston, although it’s not very overrated. As I said in my review, I just couldn’t like the characters very much. I’m not sure if a second read will prove me wrong, but for now, it’ll just sit on my shelf.

7. Most reread book: The Lord of the Rings, easy. Also probably the Dragons in our Midst series by Bryan Davis. Both (well, all five) are excellent.

8. A book you haven’t read: There are so many, actually. . . . A few are Othello by William Shakespeare, a translation of Beowulf, and Patriot Games by Tom Clancy.

9. A short story collection: Two: the Great Short Works of Herman Melville and The Rest of the Robots by Isaac Asimov. Both of which could also be answers for #8.

10. A non-fiction book: Hahaha, there are so many of these. I’ll restrict my answers to three: Plant Growth and Development: A Molecular Approach, Power Unseen: How Microbes Rule the World (curiously enough, another answer to #8), and the Outlining Your Novel Workbook by K.M. Weiland. (That last one isn’t actually on the shelf at the moment, since I’ve been using it to work on Circle of Fire. But hey.)

11. A book (physical copy, not the story itself) that has an interesting story behind it: Edge of Oblivion, actually. It’s the only book I’ve ever won in a giveaway. Besides that, Jill Williamson‘s Blood of Kings trilogy is a result of the only time I’ve ever spent $40 worth of gift cards on only three books. (I think the only time I’ve ever spent $40 worth of gift cards, period. But they’re awesome books, so they were worth it.)

Now I’m going to tag some people. There are no rules with this one, so how about three other bloggers?

  1. Olivia @ Story Matters
  2. Maggie @ Maggie’s Musings
  3. Natasha @ Starlit Wanderings

And that’s it for me for today!

Whew! I think I had too many answers to the questions. . . . Well, have you read any of the books I mentioned? Curious about any of them? What would be your answers to some of these questions? (Feel free to take the tag if you want, just link back politely. :)) (Oh, and go check out those blogs I listed as my nominees! And Victoria’s blog, too, if I didn’t say that already.) Anyway . . . tell me in the comments!

 

7 thoughts on “Extra Post: The Bookshelf Tour Tag

  1. Thank you so much for the tag! I can’t wait to do my own bookshelf tour (though I’ll have to use a picture for reference, since I left most of my books at home while I’m away at school).

    I actually haven’t read any of the books you mentioned, though I’ve been wanting to read 1984 for the longest time and I just never had. Perhaps it’s at the library…

    Anyway thanks again! I’m super excited to do this 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! I’m glad you’re excited. 🙂 I feel ya (although I live at home and commute to school, so I actually look at my bookshelf all the time). Writing fun little tag blog posts is a good study break. 😉 Hope you have fun!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you liked the tag! Yass for Lord of the Rings! Patriot Games is very good. I haven’t read the book, but the movie is one of my favorite thrillers. ^ ^

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

