Beautiful Books 2016: Novel Update

Hello, everyone! I know it took a while for me to get to this, but here is my Wednesday post for the month. This month, Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In have continued their Beautiful Books from last month. This is mostly geared at NaNoWriMo projects, which brings up a funny story. I wasn’t going to do NaNoWriMo last month; I mean, I already had 5500 words in Circle of Fire before November started. Then, about 8 P.M. on October 31st, I thought, “Well, why not?” And here I am.

So here is my novel update for CoF this November!

1. Overall, how is your mental state, and how is your novel going?

My mental state? Eh. Okay, I guess. My stress level is mostly related to a large number of exams and physics things this month, so writing is actually a nice distraction from that. My novel is going okay; I’m a bit behind on word count (and I don’t expect that will change by the time this post is published), but I’m hoping to catch up over Thanksgiving. I have finished the First Act and am plowing through the Second, so I’m making more progress than I was before November, which I guess is the overall goal.

2. What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

I think this is the most you’ve gotten out of me about this book. All right. Here is the first sentence:

“Faint thoughts drifted across Rahara’s mind.”

Scintillating, I know. (Seriously, though, do let me know what you think of it. They say the first line is very important.)

3. Who’s your current favorite character in your novel?

Ooh, tough one. I love all my characters (even my antagonist this time, which is unusual for me). I think I’d have to say Rahara, the main, is my favorite. She’s just delightful, and I love writing her British accent. 🙂

4. What do you love about your novel so far?

Many things. 🙂 I’ve realized as I’ve gotten into it just how passionate I am about this weird idea (and believe me, it is weird). I love the characters. I love them with every book I write, but this is the first time I’ve written such a diverse cast. (So many Earthlings. XD) And I really do love my antagonist. I think he’s the most relatable one I’ve ever created. And since it would be a major spoiler to say how, I’ll just stop there.

5. Have you made any hilarious typos or other mistakes?

Haha. I wouldn’t be surprised if I did, but I’m usually pretty good about backspacing. (Which is why I can’t do a Fifty-Headed Hydra–five hundred words in five minutes–I’m obsessive about correct spelling.) While I was chatting with a friend one day, though, I did mention how I had to “right” a lab report. Not related to the novel, but still.

6. What is your favorite to write: beginning, middle, or end, and why?

Hmm. I always like the end (especially if I know what’s going on), because I’m wrapping it all up and it means I’m finally done. Dialogue, though, anywhere in the book, is my favorite.

7. What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best? Feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

This is a long question. Well, I have developed a habit of fitting in some writing while I’m waiting for physics lecture to start; I can usually get in 500 words or so that way. My usual writing space is just my bed, so I won’t bother to photograph that (my desk has a fish tank and a gerbera daisy on it, so). Honestly, I write best on weekends; weekdays after I get home from school, I’m sometimes quite exhausted. So I try to catch up (and miserably fail) on the weekends.

8. How private are you about your novel while you’re writing? Do you need a cheer squad or do you work alone?

In general, I’m fairly private about my writing, although I find I am sharing more and more on this blog. I always brainstorm and share snippets with my best friend and fellow writer, though. And sometimes I rant at my brother, too (sorry).

9. What keeps you writing even when it’s hard?

That usually comes down to this: “I’m sick of schoolwork!” XD But also, I’m a very highly driven person (at least most of the time), and I know if I never finish the book, I’m not going to have a writing career, am I? So I keep going.

10. What are your top 3 pieces of writing advice?

Hmm, good question. A positivity thing that I’ve learned is that, no matter what, this is the best book you’ve ever written, because you’re always getting better. I think of that when I’m in a perfectionistic mood. I also love the advice that reading makes you a better writer. It’s true, and it’s an excuse to read, right? And lastly, it is good to finish the book like I said above, or you don’t have anything to seek publication with. It just seems logical to me.

What do you think? Have you done this link-up? Are you going to? (If you have, put your link in the comments so I can read it!) How is your book coming? What did you think of my first line? What are your top three pieces of writing advice? Tell me in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Beautiful Books 2016: Novel Update

    1. That’s so exciting! Good job! 🙂 I just broke 40K words this morning, and I think the book will be between 55-60K, so I’m almost there. Haha, yes, in the first draft, everything needs revisions. I really enjoyed your BB post! Congrats on finishing NaNo! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

