My Life This November: In Which NaNoWriMo Happens and the Semester Marches On

Hello, everyone! It’s the fourth Saturday of the month (finally), which must mean that I’m here summarizing my month for you. It’s been a bit crazy this month, so I’m not quite sure where to begin. I’ll probably be quite brief.

First, of course, in the writing domain, National Novel Writing Month (fondly known as NaNoWriMo) happened this month, and is still going on. As I mentioned on Wednesday, I wasn’t going to do NaNoWriMo this year (I mean, what college student has time to write a 50,000-word novel in thirty days?), and then on October 31st I thought, “Well . . . why not?” And here I am.

As I’m writing this post this morning, my current word count is 35,847 (5,500 or so of that is from October). I’m well aware that I’m not going to finish by Nov. 30th without losing massive amounts of sleep, which would be bad for my driving to school and generally being awake in class, so basically I’m not going to hit 50K by the end of the month. But at least I’ve written probably a lot more than I otherwise have. I’m more than halfway through Circle of Fire, and I’m really enjoying it so far. I just love writing rough drafts in general. It’s so freeing. I’m really looking forward to getting to the end; it should be fun.

In other news, it’s fall in New Hampshire, and a lot of leaves fell down this month. Then, on Monday, we had our first snow. It wasn’t much, just a coating, but it still caused a lot of ice and problems on the roads. Getting to school was interesting that day.

School has been pretty good. Organic chemistry and physics have taken over my life more than ever as the semester starts to wind down to the end. I only have three more exams left before finals (yay!). It’s hard to believe that, by the end of next month, I’ll be a full year and a half through college. It’s quite exciting. And perhaps I’ll get more writing time over winter break. . . .

So that’s my month! What about you? How was your Thanksgiving (which, of course, I totally forgot to mention in the body of my post), if you’re American? Have you had snow this month? Are you also in school? How’s it going? Are you doing NaNoWriMo, and if so, how’s that going for you? Share in the comments!

6 thoughts on “My Life This November: In Which NaNoWriMo Happens and the Semester Marches On

  1. I know how you feel. I thought about doing NaNo this year, but with the massive word count and it being my first semester at college, I wasn’t sure I could handle it. I am planning to attempt Camp NaNoWriMo in April (?) though!

    It sure feels like finals are coming up fast, so I wish you the best of luck with them and your other exams as well! And good luck with NaNo, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s exactly why I didn’t do NaNo last year (besides the fact that I didn’t have a new idea I was excited about. . .ahem). It must be so exciting for you to be wrapping up your first semester! Yay! Thanks for the good wishes, and good luck yourself! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 35K is still a lot of words! Congrats on that accomplishment! And yay for fall! We just had our first rain in a month since we had a drought and most of ours got pulled off. Hmph. XD

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

