My Life This January: In Which I Revel in Winter Break, Visit the Sunny South, and Start Yet Another Semester

Hello, all! It’s the last Saturday of the month, so I’m here as usual chatting about my life this month. In January . . . a lot happened, to say the least. Some of the most important (and/or all-encompassing) things are listed up there in the title.

Winter break is always a joyous time, when after a semester-long drought, I return to voracious reading, sleeping in, and even (gasp!) lying around doing nothing. It is glorious. I read six books in five weeks (including Ender’s Game and The Progeny–more reviews coming soon!). I also did (pitifully small) amounts of outlining a new project, tentatively titled This Hidden Darkness, and started picking at some editing for Circle of Fire. Mostly, though, I refilled my creative juices with some art. I started with pottery and managed to make one thing before I got on a stained glass kick; my dad has had all the stuff downstairs for years, and since he got back into it, I started working on my projects from a couple years ago, too. It was great to sometimes spend the whole day downstairs cutting and grinding and being creative with glass.

Of course, I also worked over break. I continued to hold down my entry-level job, and also worked in the lab. I don’t think I mentioned last month that I changed labs; I’m now in a plant genetics/biochemistry lab where I’m going to start working on rice this semester. I’m really excited about that, and I enjoyed learning stuff like seed germination (in Petri dishes) over the break.

The major thing I did over the break, though, was fly (by myself for the first time) down to Georgia to see my best friend Olivia for a week. It was really nice, especially towards the end of the week when it warmed up to short-sleeves weather. We went a lot of cool places together, like the Georgia Aquarium, Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site, and Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park, where I got to meet Victoria Howell. We had lunch in Marietta at an Australian bakery, which was really cool, then went to the park and hiked up the mountain and looked at the Civil War battlefield. We don’t have many Civil War sites in New England, so that was a really cool piece of history to see. It was also a novel thing to see the snow leftover from the weekend storm on the mountain; I mean, I see quite enough of snow, but snow in Georgia was neat to experience. We also went to see the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra perform Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich, which was really cool, since I haven’t been to really any kind of live music in years. And the symphony building was beautiful. Other than that, we enjoyed just hanging out, playing games, and feeding Olivia’s horses and playing with her cats. It’s always great to see a friend you haven’t seen in a while.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And within the last three days of this month, the new semester has begun! It was supposed to start on Tuesday, but had to be delayed due to a bad snowstorm–that’s New Hampshire for you. I’ve enjoyed most of my classes so far; physics is the notable exception, since I just don’t like the subject matter. Organic chemistry, though, has two of the best teachers I’ve ever had, and of course I love my two advanced genetics classes. I have a packed schedule, though, so it’s going to be a very busy semester.

That’s pretty much it for me today. See you next week!

How was your month? Did you travel anywhere? Meet any new friends? Have you ever been to Georgia? Did you start a new semester of school? If so, what did you do over break? Have you ever done stained glass? How is your writing going? Tell me in the comments!

2 thoughts on “My Life This January: In Which I Revel in Winter Break, Visit the Sunny South, and Start Yet Another Semester

Leave a Reply

