Story Starters #7: The Fellowship of the Ring

When Mr. Bilbo Baggins of Bag End announced that he would shortly be celebrating his eleventy-first birthday with a party of special magnificence, there was much talk and excitement in Hobbiton.

Good morning, everyone, and happy March! This month marks my first anniversary of blogging here at The Story Scientist, and I thought I’d recall where I began, with a book quote analysis of The Fellowship of the Ring. Today, I have rather less of the book to analyze for you all, since the first paragraph is only one sentence, albeit a long one. So let’s analyze!

Image result for the fellowship of the ring cover
This is the version that I have.
  • When Mr. Bilbo Baggins of Bag End announced that he would shortly be celebrating his eleventy-first birthday with a party of special magnificence, there was much talk and excitement in Hobbiton. There’s quite a bit going on in just this one sentence. Firstly, we start with the character of Bilbo Baggins, which makes a good transition into The Lord of the Rings for those who have read The Hobbit. The mention of his “eleventy-first birthday” sets the time of the story as many years after the events of The Hobbit, and the mention of talk and excitement indicates that Bilbo has developed a reputation, which is developed in the next paragraph. And what better way to hook a reader than with talk and excitement? We know something’s going to happen, and setting this sentence as its own entire paragraph gives us a moment to take that in before moving on.

Today’s has been a very short analysis, but really, I love Tolkien (as you may have noticed by my having written two other posts about his books–do check them out if you haven’t read them). And so I leave you until next week.

Image result for bilbo baggins lotr
Goodbye!

What do you think? Have you read The Fellowship of the Ring? (If not, why on earth–I mean, I highly recommend it.) What do you think of its beginning? Are you hooked by this sentence? Do you have anything to add to my analysis? Tell me in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Story Starters #7: The Fellowship of the Ring

  1. I think the specification of “eleventy-first” is intriguing, too. The name for such a birthday implies that it’s a special thing for Hobbits. But also, that’s pretty old! Is it normal for a Hobbit to reach this age or is something odd about Bilbo Baggins?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a great point that I overlooked, Krysta! There’s so much packed into this hook sentence. It definitely gives a great lead-in to the main conflict with the Ring, right from the first sentence. Wonderful thoughts; thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy bloggoversary! Get pick for the Story Starter. I’ve read the book and I’ve seen the movie at least thirty times. 😄

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yes, I love LOTR so much. I also love that the first chapter of Fellowship of the Ring is “A Long-Expected Party,” which recalls the first chapter of The Hobbit. It’s awesome. 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

